2012 Competitions and other events

These are details of the 2012 competitions, the Spring, Summer and Autumn schools along with any other events where the dates have been announced by the BAA, ETAN and the JAA.

Junior competitions

  • March – National
  • June – Open (North)
  • October – European Championship
  • November – Open (South)
Adult/Senior competitions

  • February – Kyu Grade
  • March – National
  • June – Club Championship
  • August – ETAN European Championships
Aikido Schools

  • June- Spring School in Winchester
  • July – Summer School in Sheffield
  • November – Winter School in Margate

The BAA have also organised a number of monthly training sessions for anyone interested in training with the BAA National Team and a number of Youth Development days.

January

Sunday 22nd January – BAA Squad Training Session

10am – 3pm
Wolverhampton University, Walsall Campus Sports Centre

Gitte Wolput will be teaching this squad session.


Sunday 29th January – Youth Development Day

10am – 15:00 for juniors aged 13 to 17.
Winchester College, Winchester, Hampshire

February

Sunday 5th February – Snr Kyu Grade Champoinship

The Snr Kyu Grade Champoinship will be held at the Dartford Judo Centre, Cotton Lane, Stone, Dartford, Kent DA2 6PD.

Further details can be found on the BAA website.


Sunday 26th February – National Dan Grading.

To be held at the EIS, Sheffield

March

Saturday 3rd March – Jnr Northern Area Championships

To be held at the Richard Dunn Sports Centre, Bradford, BD6 1EZ.

Under 12s, 14s and 16s MUST be on the mat ready to begin at 9:30am
Under 8s and 10s MUST arrive for 12:00 noon and report staright to the Sports Hall for registration.

Entry fee: £8 per person

Events:

Under 8:
Randori-no-Kata 1-5
Tanto Kakarigeikio
Ninindori
Under 10:
Randori-no-Kata 1-10
Tanto Kakarigeikio
Ninindori
Under 12:
Randori-no-Kata 1-14
Tanto Kakarigeikio
Ninindori
Combined under 10 and under 12:
Tanto Avoidance
Under 14:
Randori-no-Kata 1-14
Tanto Kakarigeikio
Ninindori
Under 16:
Randori-no-Kata 1-17
Tanto Kakarigeikio
Ninindori
Open Kata
Combined under 14 and under 16:
Tanto Avoidance

All Kata events to be run on a knock-out flag system. Judging of Tanto Kakarigeikio and Ninindori remain as previously.

Please remember to bring your membership and record book.


Sunday 25th March – Snr National Championship

Senior National Championship will be held at EIS, Sheffield.

This championship includes the Kyu Grade that had to be cancelled in February due to the bad weather.
Further details will be available on the BAA website.

April

Sunday 1st April – Junior West Yorkshire Training Session

Armley Leisure Centre

Training session for those juniors looking to take part in the Junior ETAN tournament – Fiesch, Switzerlan


Sunday 15th April

The BAA Instructors Course has been cancelled. The BAA will publish revised dates for this event.


Sunday 22nd April – BAA Squad Training Session

Netball Centre – Loughborough University.


Sunday 29th April – Junior West Yorkshire Training Session

Armley Leisure Centre

Training session for those juniors looking to take part in the Junior ETAN tournament – Fiesch, Switzerlan

May

BAA Spring School

The BAA Spring School will now be held in June at Winchester.


Saturday 26th May – Junior West Yorkshire Training Session

Armley Leisure Centre

Training session for those juniors looking to take part in the Junior ETAN tournament – Fiesch, Switzerlan

June

Saturday 2nd June to Monday 4 June – BAA Spring School

To be held in a new venue – Winchester.

Details will be announced nearer the date.


Sunday 10th June – Snr Club Championships

The Snr Club Championships will be held at the Dartford Judo Centre.

Further details will be available on the BAA website.


Saturday 16th June – Junior West Yorkshire Training Session

Armley Leisure Centre

Training session for those juniors looking to take part in the Junior ETAN tournament – Fiesch, Switzerlan


Sunday 17th June – BAA Squad Training Session

10am – 3pm
Wolverhampton University, Walsall Campus Sports Centre


Saturday 30th June – BAA Junior National Championship

To be held at Richard Dunns Sport Centre, Bradford.

July

Sunday 15th July – Junior West Yorkshire Training Session

Armley Leisure Centre

Training session for those juniors looking to take part in the Junior ETAN tournament – Fiesch, Switzerlan


Friday 20th July to Sunday 22nd July – BAA Summer School

The BAA Summer School will be held at the English Institute of Sport (EIS) – Sheffield.

Further details will be available on the BAA website.

August

Sunday 12th August – Junior West Yorkshire Training Session

Armley Leisure Centre

Training session for those juniors looking to take part in the Junior ETAN tournament – Fiesch, Switzerlan


Friday 17th August to Sunday 19th August – ETAN European Championships

To be held in Moscow, Russia.

Further details will be available on the BAA website.

September

Sunday 16th September – Junior West Yorkshire Training Session

Armley Leisure Centre

Training session for those juniors looking to take part in the Junior ETAN tournament – Fiesch, Switzerlan


Sunday 23rd September – BAA Squad Training Session

Netball Centre – Loughborough University.

October

Sunday 14th October

The BAA Instructors Course has been cancelled. The BAA will publish revised dates for this event.


Sunday 21st October – BAA Squad Training Session

Netball Centre – Loughborough University.


Wednesday 24th October – Junior Grading

Club grading for all junior club members. Starts at 6:45pm until 8:15pm.


Saturday 27th to Sunday 28th October – Junior European Championships

Sport-und Feriencenter, Fiesch, 3984 Fiesch, Switzerland.

Further details will be available on the BAA website.

November

Friday 2nd November to Sunday 4th November – BAA Winter School

To be held in Margate.


Sunday 18th November – BAA Squad Training Session

Netball Centre – Loughborough University.


Saturday 24th November – BAA Junior Open Championship (South)

Wycombe Judo Centre, High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire

December

Sunday 16th December – BAA Squad Training Session

Netball Centre – Loughborough University.